Different Paths

I find myself calculating how ‘behind’ I will be when I finally return to college.  (That is, if I’m accepted.   It’s no longer in my hands!) I realize this is a ridiculous way of thinking, as if taking this time off has somehow cost me the race.  Part of it, I think, has something to do with having an older sister so close in age to me.  I feel like I’m constantly competing with her, and I guess it’s been that way for a long time.  I can’t help but think, sometimes, even if it’s petty, that if I’d stayed in school, I’d  almost be DONE with it by now, which would mean I’d have ‘beat’ my sister to the finish line.  Stupid.  There is no race.  Because even if it’s corny, everyone DOES have a different path, and my path has taken me to Indiana, Nicaragua, Guatemala, and now, Spain.  Eventually, the path may lead me back to Massachusetts, but who knows?  My sister, of course, has an entirely different path, and one is no better than the other.  Just different, which is what makes it interesting.

 

261

Leave a Reply

