Aaand, I’m back home!

It’s 12:30 am, and I should be fast asleep, seeing as I have just returned from a full day of traveling.  But there are so many thoughts and feelings running through my head, keeping me from sleep.

It is SO strange to be back.  A few minutes ago, I was lying in my bed, struck all of a sudden by how QUIET everything is here. In Leon at night there is CONSTANT noise — trucks honking, music blaring, people shouting, fireworks exploding, etc, and it continues all night long.  It is never this quiet, in part because the house I was living in was totally open to the elements (no roof.)  Sound-proofing is not a concept there.

Earlier, as  we pulled into my driveway, I found myself thinking how unbelievable it is that I can wake up in one country, and end my day in an entirely one.  Air travel is incredible that way!  When I traveled by bus to Guatemala, I at least got a sense of the changes in landscape as we crossed through Honduras and El Salvador.   In a way, I think that it is easier for our brains to travel by bus than by plane because we can visualize / experience the distance in a concrete way.

Nicaragua and Leon feel millions of miles away from here.  It’s just so DIFFERENT in Leon.  Wilder, almost.  More chaotic.  LOUD.  And of course, BLAZING HOT.  For the first time in a long while, I am wearing long pants, a sweatshirt, and socks!  WHAT IS THIS?

Reverse culture shock is for real!

But even if it is a disconcerting feeling, as I watch my dog Josie sleep,  everything feels just as it should.

012.JPG

 

Leave a Reply

