A blog? Like, for reals??

I am not particularly smart, or funny, or talented, but, like so many, I am putting my fingers to the keys and starting a blog.  Why?  Well, I suppose to keep track of things going on in my life — I used to be quite the record keeper, dedicatedly transcribing my thoughts in a journal every other day, and I’d like to get back to that.  It’s a nice to have something to look back on and say, “So that’s what I was doing.”  More likely, I’ll look back on these posts and think, “I was such an idiot!” but that’s also part of the experience.

So, basically, it’s for myself. Aaand to anyone else that somehow managed to stumble into my little corner of the internet.  Welcome, fellow human!!

To bring my future self, and all the rest of y’alls, up-to-date, I’m currently living in Leon, Nicaragua.  What am I doing here, you ask?  Well, I’m teaching English (occasionally), stumbling through speaking Spanish (on a daily basis), reading lots of books, (right now it’s David Copperfield) eating lots of Gallo Pinto, drinking Tonas, sweating profusely, (always) swimming, going to the beach, among other things.

550599

I’ve been in Nicaragua for a total of nine months, (Leon for five) but it’s an interesting story of how I got here.

When I first arrived in Nicaragua August 2014, I was going on a Study Abroad program with a small liberal arts college in the Midwest USA.  To say the program was easy, or even an entirely positive experience, would not be the truth.  When I first landed in the land of lakes and volcanoes, there were nine participants in total, but by the end of the first month, the numbers had dwindled to six.  People, I believe, can regress when they are put in an unfamiliar/foreign environment, and this regression happened to some of the participants in the program, which meant a lot of drama!  Long story short, it was mentally draining, and, I should add, not a very well-organized study abroad program.  (There was very little possibility, for example, to interact with people outside of the five other students, which might have added to the issues..)  But, and this is the most important part, I absolutely fell in love with this amazing, vibrant, dynamic country, and when I left it after four months , I knew I would be back.  I just didn’t realize quite how SOON I would be back…

TO BE CONTINUED…

Leave a Reply

